Read history tour reviews

Welcome to this page dedicated to the hundreds of reviews that passengers of Procom's Beyond Band of Brothers Tours have left over the years. The reviews are listed most current to oldest, but you can also filter to show comments in each category they rated or by the type of the tour as well.


To contact the passenger who authored a particular review, simply click on the “please, put me in touch” button and fill out the form on the following page. We will contact you directly with details shortly afterwards. Feel free to contact more than one author.


We firmly believe that where you go becomes who you are and look forward to welcoming you on one of our historical tours in the future.


Travel with Procom and the rest is history...

profil
Mr. Paul Belvin
Lovettsville, Virginia

8-day Battle of Britain review

Adequate. Identical breakfast buffet each day was tiring.

There really isn't enough directly related to Battle of Britain to support a full week tour. The related sites added to the trip were usually interesting. Wish we had more time at some sites (like Battle if Britain Memorial museum and less at some others.

Final lunch was excellent. Breakfast and most lunches were just adequate.

Very disappointed in their WWII displays.

Sue did a great job. She was very personable and kept us on task.

Details...

Customer service
9.0

Hotel
6.0

Meals
6.0

Sights
6.1

Guide
10.0

Transportation
6.5

Procom overall
7.5

7.3
Good
November 2, 2018
profil
Mr. William S. Rafaill
Albion, Michigan

8-day Battle of Britain review

Always friendly and helpful and enthusiastic service when you call the office!

Just the right balance. Love the fact that you can access everything via MY TRIP on the website. If you get stuck or have a question there is always someone to talk to via chatting or by phone.

The hotel seemed a bit "tired". The carpets seemed to be worn in areas, the color scheme especially of the carpets made the place look dirty. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The same for the cleaning staff. If, for example, my wife and I needed an extra towel or a bar of soap, the gal working our floor made those items available to us. For a hotel of this calibre, the restaurant/lounge area was small. While the breakfast was good, the buffet dinners we had there were below par. We had three buffet dinners there as a group and the menus were nearly identical. If we are to have a group meal, it would be better if it could be done in a private room. For example, on the meal for the last night, Susie wanted to speak to the group, it was noisy and it was difficult to hear her. My wife and I stayed in London an extra 5 days on our own. We moved from the Novotel Wembley to the Novotel Waterloo. That hotel was much better, larger restaurant/lounge area, looked cleaner, etc. I wondered if the "wear and tear" that I noted for the Waterloo was because it is so close to Wembley Stadium and the hotel gets crowds coming in just for events. Was this hotel location selected because it made it easier for the bus to get in and out of London for our various day trips or because it was the best deal for BBOB?

I loved this tour. There are always glitches on any tour, those that we encountered were handled very well, so much so that we hardly noticed that there was any issue. I would recommend this tour. We have been on 3 tours now and I always give high marks to BBOB when discussing possible tours with friends.

Too many buffet dinners at the hotel especially since each had a nearly identical menu. See my comments made earlier about the hotel. With all of the fine restaurants in London, we certainly could have had at least one more meal outside of the hotel. If we must have 2 or 3 buffet dinners at the same place, then the menu must change. The service was mediocre. When items ran out, we had to ask to get more. For the outside meals, overall they were good. The one evening meal that was lasagna was the strangest lasagna that I have ever had. While tasty, it was more of a thick soup than traditional lasagna. No bread at an Italian meal? No salad? Susie did an excellent job of guiding the servers to make sure that each person got his/her meal in a timely manner. When there was a choice, her guidance and assistance to the servers was greatly appreciated. For the box lunch two comments: One, give us a choice, do not assume that everyone likes the same thing. It wold not be too difficult to announce the day before "Tomorrow we will have a box lunch. Please check whether you would like …". Two, two sandwiches? Too much food. My wife and I took one box lunch and split it.

The only difficulty that I had here was getting oriented to the grounds, figuring out what was where, what I wanted to see, and how to get there after the underground tours.

Excellent lecture/demo on the Enigma.

It was a little confusing to have a Churchill Museum in the middle of the Churchill War Rooms. That is not the fault of BBOB, it is the fault of those planning/developing the museum. The Churchill War Rooms and the Churchill Museum need to be logistically separate from one another. Side-by-side but not one enveloping the other. Perhaps an orientation prior to entering the Churchill War Rooms explaining how the museum and war rooms are laid out relative to one another would be helpful.

While I enjoyed the Royal military police museum, I wanted more WWII. The guy who gave the lecture in the map room was excellent but he was forced to cut his presentation short. His frustration at having to give "just a brief presentation" was evident. I wanted to learn more and it was apparent that he could give us more information. So while I was excited to visit this important location that was key to the Allied planning of D-Day I was also disappointed.

I am a "history nut", love museums, historical sites. I always want more time at any museum/site. So this comment applies to all of the sights/events below! I wanted more time at each sight but I also realized that that is not always possible given the difficulties of scheduling each day. So, given the tight schedule we were on, ample time was given, I never felt rushed.

Very professional, friendly, helpful, always willing to take questions, engage in conversation. I still find it hard to believe that this was her first full tour on her own!

Enjoyable and fun. Lots of background information about London "then and now".

The only reason I gave this a 4 instead of a 5 is that we seemed to have to wait longer than expected to board. There seemed to be a glitch that was beyond the control of Susie. Once on board the sightseeing trip was very enjoyable. Sometimes, however, it was hard to figure out which building the commentator was describing.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
7.0

Meals
7.0

Sights
9.7

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.1
Excellent
October 20, 2018
profil
Ms. Barbara Rafaill
Albion, Michigan

8-day Battle of Britain review

People are always available to talk with directly, but the MY TRIP website works well, also.

The room was average. It was a good size, but the carpet was dirty as were the carpets in the hallways. The toilet never worked right even after someone came up and worked on it. We had to ask for more soap several times because they never left extra even when we only had a small chip left. There was nothing left on the counter except one hand soap, one shower gel bottle, and one shampoo---skimpy offerings. Food was average, not bad, but not great by any means. We had three buffet dinners at this restaurant (which I felt was two too many), and two of them were the same menu. This does not say much for the restaurant (or perhaps the BBOB person who ordered the meals?). The personnel here were friendly, though, and helpful.

It was not your best tour in terms of the hotel and food, but I can't complain about the itinerary. I would recommend it with cautions as to "lots of planes" :-) as noted elsewhere and in terms of the "average" caliber of the hotel room and food at times.

Most meals were mediocre. Where to begin...three buffet dinners at the hotel and two were identical---terrible. The food included in the buffet was nothing to brag about. Sometimes butter ran out, or bread, etc. and you would have to ask to have more brought out. The meals at the shopping mall---average at best. The Italian dinner consisted of a bowl of soupy lasagne AND NOTHING ELSE!! No bread, no salad, nothing to accompany the main course. That was a joke. At the shopping mall, the tables were set, but when we arrived, it took "forever" for the waiters just to take drink orders. These meals were not great. I might as well have been in the U.S. eating at a chain restaurant. The Blue Boar in London was WONDERFUL! What a treat. The lunch in the Dover area was nice: bright restaurant, good service, good food (fish, soup, etc.). The box lunch: PLEASE offer a choice of sandwich to sign up for ahead of that day. Too much food in the box lunch, also. Lots of waste; my husband and I split one lunch which was still almost too much food. There was another tiny place, located between two museums or something, which was very old and we were crammed in and they had a buffet of odd things. Peculiar; and I remember the chair seats were nasty. We survived, but I think BBOB could do better. The food on this trip was not your best effort compared to other BBOB tours we have been on.

This was a great experience. The tours were interesting, and we had enough time to explore everything.

Another wonderful place to visit. The guided tour part and free time was great.

Another awesome piece of this trip. An oral introduction to what was there would have helped me make better choices on what to visit after our Enigma presentation. Perhaps right before the Enigma presentation we could have gotten a 5 minute orientation to this place so we could mark our maps as to what we wanted to make sure we did not miss once left on our own.

I really liked this place, especially because we could get some walking in and also were out in the country. I felt we needed to have understood the layout of things a bit better prior to being able to wander about at our own pace. I think we had a bit of an introduction here, but maybe we needed to have someone orally emphasize what was in the area vs just give us a map. I don't mean you need to lead us by the hand, but just spend a bit of time orienting everyone before releasing them to pick and choose which hangars to visit.

This was a very enjoyable part of the trip. I did feel the guide enjoyed listening to herself tell stories a bit too much. The stories were fine, but she dramatically dragged them out. A few of us did not get enough time to see the Visitor's Center because we went into the office area by mistake---I would have thought it was just me except that I ran into others looking for a good sign to tell them to go into "this door" not "that door"!

Super, although crowded, but that is not anything you can control. Might be good if the BBOB tour guide pointed out to people ahead of going in that the museum is in the center and not part of the "war rooms."

This would have been better if the man who talked about the D-Day map had been given more time to present. I enjoyed the Royal Military Police Museum although I think some people did not understand its significance and may have run through it or not even gone through it. The overall history and current status of Southwick Park was and is confusing to me. While I enjoyed the Military Police Museum, I was confused as to why it was there in relationship to the Southwick House and the D-Day map room, etc. Each element was fine, but how was this all connected together historically and currently? I have to admit, even reading about this place online can confuse you.

Great.

I enjoyed this museum.

She was a superstar. For someone with not much experience doing this work, she was well organized, friendly, and smart.

Great. I especially liked that he talked about London today as well as talked about the history. If these tours were only about detailed history of the particular area of study being emphasized, I would not "buy a ticket." The extras included really round out the experience for those of us who are not hard core history buffs.

So glad you had us do this tour. It was a very nice way to get an overall review of London. Could this have been done on the first day, though, and been more effective?

Too many planes for me, but nothing wrong with this museum overall. When we talked to people on other BBOB tours who had taken this particular trip, they warned us that "you better like planes if you go on the Battle of Britain tour," and that was an accurate comment. Then again, you really had quit a lot of variety packed into this trip and we also did get outside of London and see some of the countryside.

This was great!

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
7.0

Meals
7.0

Sights
9.8

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
9.0

9
Excellent
October 20, 2018
profil
Mr. Peter Fralick
Henderson, Nevada

8-day Battle of Britain review

Very satisfied. Deborah was great with all answers.

Perfect we did as advertised

Very nice, well run and clean. All employees, especially in dining room were very competent. Room was very comfortable.

Very professional.

The tour gave me everything I wanted. To take tour must know the history of Battle of Britain

Very good a different meal every day

Driver knew route and how to get around traffic, always picked up and dropped close to destination

Terrific, did not know much about but was very pleased.

Excellent, to be in a place with the queen and pm was great.

Absolutely not ever to be missed, so much accomplished there.

Terrific, every war represented all countries

Very nice and organized. A little too much dialogue

Wonderful and spent at least three hours there.

Terrific to be in same room as Ike giving the go for overlord.

Very interesting.

Had visited many years before but now very well organized.

Sue was very energetic and caring. If did not have answer, found answer.

Did not have rob

Very nice ending to a wonderful trip. Had not seen Ferris wheel before and sights along other the Thames was great

Also had visited previously but now appears to be bigger.

Wonderful but not enough time.

Details...

Customer service
9.0

Hotel
8.0

Meals
8.0

Sights
9.8

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.3
Excellent
October 4, 2018
profil
Mr. Mark Zimmerman
Nashville, Tennessee

8-day Battle of Britain review

Personnel always willing to answer questions.

More information about museums, sites, etc. would be very useful for planning.

Maps would be good. also, see prior answer.

Hotel staff very responsive and friendly. Meal selection could be better.

Well satisfied with Procom.

My first overseas tour of this kind so not much to compare to. Too much walking for me. Schedule seemed a little hectic. Covered a lot of sites.

Great meals at Blue Boar and Three Stags in London. Other meals not so great. Had to walk quarter-mile to restaurants for most dinners.

Too much time on the bus. Hotel site had crowded traffic. But tour bus not bad overall.

Tunnels were uncomfortable and crowded. Couldn't hear guides sometimes. Humid.

Excellent tour of fascinating site. Museum was first-rate.

Perhaps most interesting site. Not enough time allotted to see everything.

Very windy. Long walks. Unreliable tram. Astonishing assortment of aircraft!

Beautiful. Tour guide too lengthy; should have talked inside of chapel.

Again, too crowded and not enough time. But fascinating exhibits.

Map room was great! Photos are allowed inside. MP museum not all that interesting.

Excellent museum! But nothing to do with Battle of Britain.

World class museum. Could have used more time to explore.

Can't praise her enough. Very conscientious and personable. Very patient.

Very informative, responsive, and entertaining.

Great chance to see a lot of London in a short time. Enjoyed the cruise.

Lot of ground to cover. Great selection of aircraft.

Nice scenery. Great museum although tourists were crowded inside.

Details...

Customer service
8.0

Hotel
10.0

Meals
5.0

Sights
9.2

Guide
10.0

Transportation
9.0

Procom overall
9.5

8.7
Very Good
September 29, 2018
profil
Mr. Charles Campbell
Hartsdale, New York

8-day Battle of Britain review

Great tour. Covered a lot of ground. Should add a day and go to Bovington Tank Museum! Went on my own. World class museum.

Worst food of all the BBOB Tours I've taken. Only decent meal was at The Blue Boar in London. Brits aren't really known for their food.

Seats could be a little more comfortable...but the bus was fine.

Amazing young lady! Good people are hard to find! You need to keep her and develop her career with your company. Can't speak highly enough about her. Class act! One of a kind. :)

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
8.0

Meals
4.0

Sights
10.0

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

8.9
Very Good
September 27, 2018
profil
Mr. Kirk Danley
Greeley, Colorado

8-day Battle of Britain review

very nice, good location for getting out to the highways for the bus, nice amenities nearby, great service, breakfasts got dull being the same each day

Excellent again just like last year when my dad and I had the same compliments after the 11-day Band of Brothers trip.

It was great, and your team does an excellent job. The sites aren't quite as great as Normandy, but nothing could be, and you gave the right amount of time at each location and made it all very stress-free to handle everything, great tour.

I thought they all were good, some were great, but if there were a way to talk the hotel into mixing up the breakfast buffet a little bit I think all would have enjoyed that; however I went to cafe right next door to do just that and it worked out well

I'll butcher the spelling of his name if I try, but he was great, as was the coach itself

the first half was great, the military police portion was the least exciting part of the tour

Sue was absolutely great, older couples on the trip were taking photos with her during the London boat tour and all I heard was well-deserved compliments of the way she handled everything.

Rob was excellent, both very well versed on the topic as well as exciting and entertaining.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
9.0

Meals
9.0

Sights
9.7

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.7
Excellent
September 25, 2018
profil
Mr. Larry Schwartzman
Gaithersburg, Maryland

8-day Battle of Britain review

Very informative and responsive.

A few questions, but mostly informative.

Hotel was fair....problems with elevator and bathroom issues. And the location was not good.....too far from central London.

Informative and well run tour.

Overall excellent

Friendly and safe driver.

Informative, friendly, and responsive.

Excellent

Details...

Customer service
9.3

Hotel
6.0

Meals
9.0

Sights
9.4

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.1
Excellent
August 27, 2018
profil
Ms. Joanna Kepley
Monticello, Illinois

8-day Battle of Britain review

Good location. Good food. Comfortable rooms. They had elevator issues while we were there.

Responsive to questions.

Well organized, informational, and fun trip. Procom delivered as promised and met our expectations. We plan to take more tours in the future.

The food was good. There were a few issues with people getting served timely. We appreciated that special diet needs were considered and accommodated.

Very comfortable. Glad to have someone else drive on those narrow, traffic jammed roads.

Ruth was excellent. We loved listening to her.

Robert did a good job guiding us through the tour.

Except for the WWI exhibits, the other displays were limited and less organized. We were somewhat disappointed in this site and could have spent less time there. However, we thought Ruth was great!

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
9.0

Meals
10.0

Sights
9.6

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.8
Excellent
July 22, 2018
profil
Mr. Hugh Gardner
Arlington, Virginia

8-day Battle of Britain review

Approximate amount of travel time on the tour bus.

The staff were friendly and tried hard. Location was too far from tour sites.

Very good experience!

Overall excellent, but too much bus time. Excellent and caring tour guides/staff very much appreciated, made a big impact on the quality of the tour. More private tours at sites would be better, and more time with Ruth if at all possible! A music option on bus would have been a good feature.

Need fast efficient lunches...no fault of Robert, the restaurants just not able to handle large tour groups.

Super driver! But too much time in London traffic, maybe 2 different hotels would be better?

Ruth was AWESOME!!!! Absolutely the best.

Sue was excellent and caring! They were a great team!

Needed more time there!!!

Nice, but not worth the travel time.

Excellent, attentive, and dedicated!

Details...

Customer service
9.7

Hotel
8.0

Meals
6.0

Sights
10.0

Guide
10.0

Transportation
9.0

Procom overall
10.0

9
Excellent
July 17, 2018
profil
Ms. Susan Gardner
Arlington, Virginia

8-day Battle of Britain review

Hotel itself was fine, but not in the best area - felt uneasy at night walking around

Enjoyed most of the sites; well organized; reasonable activity level

Lunches took way too long; have more bag lunches on the bus.

Excellent - very patient; organized; good time management Sue was also very patient and helpful

Details...

Customer service
9.0

Hotel
8.0

Meals
7.0

Sights
8.6

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

8.9
Very Good
July 17, 2018
profil
Ms. Jane Levering
Towson, Maryland

8-day Battle of Britain review

Very clean and great meals.

I would recommend this tour for the great price that includes very good lodgings, food and transportation and tour guides.

Excellent! Would contact her again.

Musty for me...I am allergic to mildew but good to see.

Details...

Customer service
7.7

Hotel
10.0

Meals
8.0

Sights
6.2

Guide
10.0

Transportation
9.5

Procom overall
9.0

8.6
Very Good
August 13, 2017
profil
Mr. Phil Manning
Colorado Springs, Colorado

8-day Battle of Britain review

Prior to the free afternoon on the last day hand out the Central London brochure earlier so people can plan their day.

good enough

Very good and I will recommend it to others. A friend is attending the September 2017 tour with his museum.

On the warm days a heavy noon meal was a little too much.

the coach was very comfortable and the driver certainly knew how to maneuver it

very impressive

good job

Not really enough time to explore the Castle.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
7.0

Meals
8.0

Sights
9.3

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.2
Excellent
August 8, 2017
profil
Mr. Jim Kavanaugh
Mundelein, Illinois

8-day Battle of Britain review

I booked extra days at the hotel through Pricom. The hotel staff could not find my reservation. The situation was very confusing to all

I plan on another tour in 2018

Overall excellent!

Meals were average

Amish is an incredibly talented driver!

Outstanding

Robert is an excellent tour manager. We had a 93 year old veteran on the tour and Robert looked after him like a son.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
7.0

Meals
6.0

Sights
8.9

Guide
10.0

Transportation
9.5

Procom overall
10.0

8.8
Very Good
August 8, 2017
profil
Mr. Charles Levering
Towson, Maryland

8-day Battle of Britain review

Very thorough. Excellent.

Lots of information. I felt prepared for the trip.

More maps

Extremely well organized and planned. No worries. Everything was taken care of.

Fantastic. She should always use her if you have the chance. Informative. Knowlegeble. Very sociable and caring.

I loved the Ultra demonstration and explanation and the fact that we were given permission to actually try it out.

Details...

Customer service
9.3

Hotel
8.0

Meals
8.0

Sights
7.7

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9
Excellent
August 2, 2017
profil
Mr. Thad Dorsey
San Antonio, Texas

8-day Battle of Britain review

Outstanding tour!

Would have liked more variety of restaurants for dinner.

Driver was outstanding!

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
7.0

Meals
6.0

Sights
10.0

Guide
8.0

Transportation
9.5

Procom overall
9.0

8.5
Very Good
August 2, 2017
profil
Ms. Jackie Swist
Turners Falls, Massachusetts

8-day Battle of Britain review

Exceptional service!

Maybe a map of where we stay so you know where you are in relation to places we are going.

Loved it! Good food, nice rooms, and pleasant staff.

My general impressions of the tour are the things you get to do and visit for the price. Love the all inclusive where everything is done for you but enjoy the experience! I would recommend the tour for the same reasons! Worry free, enjoyable vacation!

Each restaurant was great! I liked the options and the bit of culture in them!

Exceptional driving! Those roads are crazy!!

Ruth was exceptional. You couldn't get any better!! She was so knowledgeable and personable!!

Robert was terrific! We thoroughly enjoyed his expertise! He was very professional and mature!

So much to see....

Loved the place!

Surreal to be placed where history was made!

Best place on the tour! Loved to see the real planes flying!

Beautiful!

Phenomenal place. There was SO much to see there! I loved it!!

Great talk by the guide! Such a historical place!!

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
10.0

Meals
10.0

Sights
9.7

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

10
Excellent
August 1, 2017
profil
Mr. Eric Heestand
Pemberville, Ohio

8-day Battle of Britain review

The tour was well done. Perhaps another 1-2 days could be added so more time could have been spent in central London and would have been nice to see one of the old abandoned US bomber bases near Duxford. I know this trip was previously 7 days in past years. I opted to stay over 2 extra days on my own.

Anyone that can navigate the traffic and streets of London in a motor coach bus deserves a bonus. Well done!

Very knowledgeable

Enjoyed the private instruction on the use of the German Enigma Machine. I never thought I would ever touch, not alone be able to type on one.

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
8.0

Meals
8.0

Sights
9.7

Guide
10.0

Transportation
10.0

Procom overall
10.0

9.4
Excellent
July 31, 2017
profil
Mr. Paul Lange
Santa Fe, New Mexico

8-day Battle of Britain review

Great

Details...

Customer service
9.5

Hotel
7.0

8.3
Very Good
May 31, 2017
profil
Mr. Steve Tatham
Manchester, New Hampshire

8-day Battle of Britain review

Very nice

Always top notch.

The bus trips to Dover and Portsmouth were long. I would rather see the tour go to a hotel out that way at the end of the tour and go to the Tank Museum aka Bovington. They could drive back to the Novotel after Bovington for the last night, than leave the following morning by plane. Good bang for the buck.

Very nice

The coach needed some new shocks in the back. It bounced too much.

Well informed on a number of topics

My second tour with Robert. He is excellent.

Amazing

Details...

Customer service
10.0

Hotel
8.0

Meals
10.0

Sights
9.4

Guide
10.0

Transportation
9.5

Procom overall
10.0

9.6
Excellent
May 31, 2017

Video reviews

Panzer Museum

Central Europe
Remembrance tour

Third Reich Tour

Andrew Meyer and
Shannon Minnett

Darrell Downs

Passengers from 2012

D-Day and beyond

Patricia Francoeur and
Terry Brown

Nancy Poll

Christina Hefel